I want you to want me


Here’s the song reference.

In addition to being our resident daredevil, Beanie is also our resident philosopher in training.  This stands to reason somewhat; Manie has a degree in philosophy, and there are more than a few conversations around our house of an abstract bent.  At any rate, yesterday was something of a whirlwind of bread-baking and phone calls, with the unfortunate effect that the tribe spent a little more time watching TV and being shooed outside to play than usual.

During one of the few moments when I sat on the couch to relax and regroup, Beanie climbed up onto the couch and snuggled up next to me, then looked up at me with her wide, serious, brown eyes.  “Mommy?”

“Yes, honey?”

“Did you want me?”

“Even before I knew you, I wanted you.  Daddy and I both wanted all of you, and we’re very grateful that all of you are here.”

“Did you want to have a daughter just like me?”

“You mean one who is smart and imaginative and full of energy and beautiful?  You bet.”

“I’m glad.  That makes me happy.  I love you, Mommy.  I’m glad God gave me you for a Mommy and not somebody else.  Am I yours?”

“Yes, and I’m yours.  I love you, too, Beanie.  You’re awesome.”

I hugged her tightly and kissed her before she squirmed free to chase the last of the falling leaves out back.

Today’s prayer:  Thank You, Lord, for Beanie and Bugaboo, for Baby Guy and Mr. Man, for the love with which they shower us in spite of our many failings as parents and people.  Please keep always in my heart that in order to show them Your face, I should always welcome them and not hinder them, and make sure that no loaf of bread takes priority over them.  Help me find ways to include them in complicated tasks on hectic days and remind me that every day with them is a gift from You.  Remind us to give thanks to You always for the gift of our family.

2 thoughts on “I want you to want me

Please share your thoughts! I don't know who reads this, but the stats tell me someone does. I'd like to know what you took from our little stories and prayers.

