Push it


Here’s the song reference.

This is a rare intermediate post, but we had an adventure in grocery shopping that I thought I would share on the blog as well as with Facebook.

Should you be in need of a practical method of strength training, I humbly offer the following:  Secure four children, weighing a total of at least 130 pounds, into a bench-seat cart at Wegmans, then proceed to push said cart (which itself weight about 40 pounds, I’d guess) up and down every aisle of the store while adding groceries thereto, until another 100 pounds or so has been added.  I should point out that these carts corner poorly, necessitating the actual lifting of the back end of the cart (which holds the aforementioned midget mob) to facilitate a pivot on a single front wheel of the conveyance.  Proceed through a checkout line with the now-laden cart, unload it with one hand while intervening in several fisticuff incidents, then push it a couple hundred yards across a parking lot and unload again.  Remember to put the children in the car.

I guarantee you will discover muscles in your back, legs, and shoulders of which you had been previously unaware.

Today’s prayer:  Lord, thank You for blessing me with a strong body.  Please keep me mindful that I should include taking proper care of that body as part of my thanks to You for it, and that I must teach Your blessings to do likewise.

7 thoughts on “Push it

    • It’s a shopping cart with something like a small park bench attached to the pushing end with a handled platform. Picture a shopping cart attached to a mover’s dolly carrying a small bench and you have a rough approximation 🙂

  1. Pingback: They are the dancing queens | dailymomprayers

  2. Howdy! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

Please share your thoughts! I don't know who reads this, but the stats tell me someone does. I'd like to know what you took from our little stories and prayers.

