Knock, knock, knockin’


Here’s the song reference.

Bugaboo and Beanie have reached that delightful age where they try to tell jokes. I have aided and abetted this stage of their development by providing several CDs of silly kids’ songs, complete with intermittent joke-telling, that play nearly constantly in the kitchen during the time the tribe spends in there.  This morning, the two of them reduced each other to helpless giggles while attempting to tell the following joke:

Knock, knock!
Who’s there?
Banana.
Banana who?
Knock, knock.
Who’s there?
Banana.
Banana who?
Knock, knock.
Who’s there?
Orange.
Orange who?
Orange you glad I didn’t say banana!

They never did get it quite right, but it was absolutely hilarious listening to them try, especially since neither of them could stop laughing long enough to choke out the punch line.  Of course, I eventually indulged their request to “tell it the right way,” and then added one that had Beanie literally falling out of her chair when Bugaboo fell for it, to wit:

Knock, knock.
Who’s there?
Boo.
Boo who?
Aww, don’t cry!

Grandma, who has heard them trying to tell the “orange” knock-knock joke several times (back when Bugaboo’s retelling was limited to “Knock knock bana!”), happened to be on the phone with me during part of the time the girls were giving each other giggle fits, and informed me that she had been inspired by their enthusiasm for the fruity humor to purchase an entire book of knock-knock jokes for Bugaboo’s birthday.  Once I recovered from choking on my coffee, my mother and I passed a pleasant few minutes reminiscing about a morning radio host from my childhood who used to have a “Stump the DJ” call-in segment every morning, in which listeners were invited to try to tell him a joke he’d never heard, and the treasure of my elementary school years, Truly Tasteless Jokes, through which I learned to laugh at stereotypes and myself — and what jokes to never, ever tell around my Granny.

I’m actually looking forward to enjoying knock-knock jokes again.

Today’s prayer:  Lord, thank You for the reminders of how to laugh on days when it doesn’t come easily, and that there are some ways to enjoy words with friends that don’t involve a computer.  Thank You for the lively minds and lips of Your blessings, and for Your assurance that there will be times to laugh along with times to weep.  Thank You also, Lord, for knock-knock jokes.  I realize that probably wasn’t what You had in mind when You told us, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, [then] I will enter his house and dine with him, and he with me,” but I’m planning to teach Your blessings that we can always offer our smiles and laughter as prayers to You, prayers of thanksgiving for the joy we find in You.

2 thoughts on “Knock, knock, knockin’

Please share your thoughts! I don't know who reads this, but the stats tell me someone does. I'd like to know what you took from our little stories and prayers.

