Every picture tells a story


Bugaboo has nearly reached the end of her preschool curriculum.  There are some coloring pages at the end of her preschool literacy book, so I thought it might be fun to let her color them, then tell me what’s going on in the pictures.  Most kids like to tell stories, and I figured it would be a good assessment of her faith formation lessons, to see what she understands about Jesus.  She colored the first one today.

After she had finished coloring, and I had finished my morning phone call to Grandma, I asked her to tell me what was happening in the picture.  Surprisingly, the normally voluble Bugaboo just sat there, with an enormous smile radiating from her face.  She can spin wondrous tales, can our oldest daughter, but today she was silent.  I let her sit and admire her handiwork for a few moments, then asked her again what she saw in the picture.  I wrote down the first few sentences of her description for her to copy for her penmanship lesson, and so she could have the pride of saying that she had written her own story, but after she dictated these:

she cheerfully burbled, “I love Jesus.  He always wants to have little children near Him.  Even if we do bad things, he still loves us and wants us to come visit him.  He wants to help us be good.”

I’d say she’s got a better understanding of what it means to be a Christian than a whole lot of adults.  What say you?

Today’s prayer:  Lord, thank You for a daughter who can express the mystery of faith with such simple profundity and joy.  Thank You for guiding my husband and I to being blessed with this quiverful of arrows from You, and for the wisdom and humility to live a simple life so that we can give them a family and a home that is rich in faith and love.

3 thoughts on “Every picture tells a story

Please share your thoughts! I don't know who reads this, but the stats tell me someone does. I'd like to know what you took from our little stories and prayers.